Drone laws have become very important in the last couple of years (maybe a decade), and they aren’t always easy to interpret.
On top of that, there aren’t any fundamental unified rules for drones on the national level across the US. Instead, there are local and state laws that regulate drone use for various purposes and let you know how to register your drones.
You’ll find everything you should know about drone laws in Massachusetts here!
Can I Have A Drone In Massachusetts?
Yes, drones are allowed in Massachusetts for recreational and commercial use, subject to FAA regulations and flight controls enforced by local governments.
It’s a standard rule that’s almost the same in every state, including Massachusetts.
That means that as long as you’re not using your drone for anything else other than recreation, fun, or commercial purposes, you’re allowed to have - and fly - a drone.
What Type Of Drones Does The Massachusetts Legislature Stand Behind?
The state of Massachusetts only notes that your drone needs to weigh up to 55 pounds and that flying that drone in commercial or recreational manners is approved under the FAA Part 107.
Recreational Drone Flying In Massachusetts
As it’s already mentioned, recreational drone flying in Massachusetts is allowed. Now, let’s look at several important rules you must familiarize yourself with in order to properly fly drones for recreational purposes in the State of Massachusetts.
First, you should go over the crucial safety guidelines of an FAA-recognized Community Based Organization. And second, you should know that you can only operate at or below 400 feet in controlled airspace - Class B, C, D, and E - always with prior authorization by using LAANC or DroneZone.
Now, for some technical issues at hand:
You must take The Recreational UAS Safety Test (TRUST) and carry proof of test passage at all times while flying your drone(s).
Have a current registration, mark your drones on the outside with the registration number - and carry proof of registration with you. Do note that, for recreational flyers, the FAA doesn’t ask you to register or mark a drone weighing less than 0.55 pounds.
And lastly, be sure not to fly your drone in a manner dangerous for you - or your surroundings!
Do I Have To Register My Drone In Massachusetts?
As we’ve said, you have to register your drone for recreational flying in Massachusetts. But what about commercial drone registration in the same state?
You must register your drone if you’re planning on flying it for commercial purposes and any work-related stuff. The registration process isn’t long and tedious; you can get it done pretty quickly and without too much hassle. Plus, you can do it online!
Registration costs $5 and remains valid for three years from the moment you’ve registered your drone. You also need to remember to mark your drone in case it gets lost, runs out of batteries in the middle of flying, or gets stolen!
Can I Still Get Penalties If I Use A Drone In Massachusetts?
Like with all things regulated by law, there are penalties for flying your drone in a punishable way or doing certain things against the law in your state.
When it comes to questions like these, there’s not much else you can do besides go to a local police station and politely ask to be introduced to local law referring to drones and drone flying. That’s always the best - and safest - course of action.
Any invasion of privacy (and other criminal activities) is still punishable by law in the State of Massachusetts, so it’s generally advised to use common sense if you’re unsure about the actual rules.
What If I Want To Fly My Commercial Drone In Massachusetts?
We’ve mentioned earlier that commercial drone flying in the State of Massachusetts is perfectly legal.
You must familiarize yourself with the FAA Part 107 rules, become an FAA-certified drone pilot by passing the Knowledge Test, and finally register your drone.
After you’ve marked your drone with its registration, you’re free to fly it for commercial purposes!