Drone flying in the US state of Minnesota is governed by the Federal agency responsible for the safety of drones. With that said, the Minnesota legislature has put in place additional regulations specific to Minnesota drone operations. We’ll cover them down below.
Can I Have A Drone In Minnesota?
Yes, you can own a drone in the state of Minnesota. Drones are allowed for recreational and commercial uses, subject to FAA guidelines and flight controls that have been put in place by local jurisdictions.
What Type Of Drones Does The Minnesota Legislature Stand Behind?
In the state of Minnesota, the definition of UAS, which is short for an Unmanned aircraft system, refers to an aircraft that’s doesn't carry a crew and is a remotely piloted vehicle. It can fly either remotely or autonomously and can be expendable or recoverable.
Unmanned Aircraft System doesn’t include model flying airplanes or rockets, and it may also be used in resource management or mapping.
Drones can be utilized by the authorities. However, the law in the state of Minnesota prohibits deploying facial recognition or similar biometric-matching technology on UASs unless that was authorized by a warrant. The law also prohibits equipping drones with weapons and collecting data on public protests.
Furthermore, many cities and counties within the Minnesota state may have specific regulations and restrictions within their local governments. Therefore, we highly recommend checking the local jurisdiction if you want to be up to date with the latest rules.
Recreational Drone Flying In Minnesota
The FAA has defined the Drone Laws within Part 107 guidelines, by which you can operate your drone for recreational purposes. However, your drone has to weigh less than 55 pounds in order to be used for enjoyment.
Two crucial things to keep in mind when flying your drone for recreational purposes are that you need to fly at or below 400 feet in controlled airspace, and you have to keep a drone within your visual line of sight. Still, you can also use a co-located visual observer.
Another requirement for recreational drone pilots is TRUST, short for The Recreational Safety UAS Test. Every recreational drone pilot should take and pass this test.
We recommend that you consult the Federal Aviation Administration rules and guidelines on the proper uses of recreational drones.
Do I Have To Register My Drone In Minnesota?
Luckily, if your drone is less than 0.55 pounds or 250 grams, you can operate it for recreational purposes within the state of Minnesota without registration.
Can I Still Get Penalties If I Use A Drone In Minnesota?
Keep in mind that any intentional violation of safety requirements and guidelines could result in criminal and civil penalties.
What If I Want To Fly My Commercial Drone In Minnesota?
Drone laws also allow you to operate your drone for commercial purposes within the state of Minnesota. You can fly your drone for work or business if your vehicle weighs less than 55 pounds by following FAA rules and guidelines.
Understanding what is allowed under FAA Part 107 guidelines is essential in commercial drone operations. However, certain operations aren’t covered by FAA Part 107 rules, meaning they’ll require a waiver.
In order to become an FAA-certified drone pilot, you need to pass the Knowledge Test. To be eligible to receive your Remote Pilot Certificate and take the Knowledge Test in the first place, you need to be at least 16 years old and write, speak, understand, and read English.
After passing the Knowledge Test, you’ll need to complete FAA Form 8710-13 to get your remote pilot certificate.
You'll need to register your drone if you want to utilize it for work or business-related purposes. The registration’s valid for three years, and it costs only $5. After you’ve registered your aerial vehicle, be sure to mark it with the registration number.