In general, flying drones is allowed in the United States of America. However, the deal is that every state has a different set of rules and regulations regarding drone flying. Some states have stricter rules for owning and flying drones. You should get acquainted with the local laws before you get a drone.
For essential information on drone laws in Wisconsin, make sure to keep reading.
Can I Have A Drone In Wisconsin?
Yes, you can have a drone in the state of Wisconsin. Commercial and recreational use - as in, flying for fun and enjoyment - are allowed in Wisconsin if the drone operator follows the FAA regulations and local government’s flight controls.
Make sure to continue reading for more details.
What Type Of Drones Does The Wisconsin Legislature Stand Behind?
The state of Wisconsin recognizes small unmanned aerial vehicles for recreational purposes as “model airplanes.” The UAS, or unmanned aircraft system, must weigh under 55 pounds to be used for recreational and commercial purposes.
You must use the said drone according to the FAA rules and guidelines, such as keeping the drone in the visual line, giving way to crewed aircraft, away from airports - and abiding by the FAA flight control.
Recreational Drone Flying in Wisconsin
Recreational drone flying is allowed in Wisconsin for enjoyment purposes. However, the drone operator must abide by the FAA guidelines and regulations, such as flying the drone within their visual line of sight.
Also, drones cannot land within 100 feet of other people or come closer than 500 feet of large public gatherings. The drones also can’t fly close to correctional facilities' schools or endanger other people in any way.
Remember that you have to pass the TRUST (The Recreational UAS Safety Test) to fly your drone recreationally. If you pass the test, you’ll have to carry the proof of passage when flying your drone.
Do I Have To Register My Drone In Wisconsin?
Well, it depends on the size of the drone in question. For drones that weigh under 0.55 pounds, registration isn’t required, but for drones weighing over 0.55 pounds and under 55 pounds, FAA regulations require registration.
Registration costs $5, and it lasts for three years. The drone has to have the registration number sticker on it, and you should always carry proof of registration with you when operating the drone.
Can I Still Get Penalties If I Use A Drone In Wisconsin?
Of course - there are plenty of ways you can get a civil or criminal penalty when flying a drone in Wisconsin. First of all, you mustn’t fly drones near wildlife - or obstruct people when hunting and fishing.
Also, drones can’t be flown over correctional facilities, used as weapons, used to take photos or videos of people and private property without consent, or otherwise disrupt the privacy of those people.
What If I Want To Fly My Commercial Drone In Wisconsin?
Commercial drone flying is legal in Wisconsin as long as you have the registration for your aircraft and have the Remote Pilot Certificate for flying the drone. You must also abide by the FAA regulations for commercial flights.
To obtain the certificate, you must be over 16 years of age and understand English.
So, study for the test, get the tracking number, and schedule the appointment. Once you pass the test and fill out the FAA form for the certificate, you will be allowed to fly your drone for any commercial or business purposes!
Can I Still Get Penalties If I Use A Drone In Texas?
Of course, you can - if you break the law and regulations of the state of Texas. It is against the law to fly drones and other UAVs over critical infrastructure facilities or take photos and videos of wildlife unless permitted.
Keep in mind that flying drones in state parks is strictly prohibited unless you obtain a permit, which will take at least a few weeks to receive. Also, the state law prohibits flying drones over correctional and detention facilities and sports venues.
Another critical point to remember is that only the members of the law enforcement can take photos and videos of property located within the 25 miles of the US border - and only if it’s for border security reasons.
What If I Want To Fly My Commercial Drone In Texas?
Commercial use of drones is allowed in Texas - as long as you follow the FAA guidelines.
You must pass the Aeronautical Knowledge Test with FAA to obtain a Remote Pilot Certificate before you start flying your drone for commercial purposes.
To get the Remote Pilot Certificate, you must be over 16, understand English, get the tracking number, study for the test, and fulfill the FAA-approved form upon passing the test. If you wish to take photos for insurance purposes or insurance companies, you must be authorized by FAA to do so.